Scout Programme

The Scout (Section) Programme is the third stage of the Association's Progressive Training Scheme for young people aged 4 - 21 years. This stage of the Programme which caters to boys aged 11 - 16 years, is made up of three elements:

All these Awards are structured so that the programme:

  • Has a structured framework
  • Is simple, relevant and practical
  • Fulfills the Aim of the Association
  • Emphasises traditional Scouting skills
  • Requires the operation of the Patrol Leaders' Council
  • Is flexible for direct entry
  • Gives freedom of choice of activity depending on age
  • Meets the needs of different age groups
  • Leads from Cub Scouting into Venture Scouting
Scout Progressive Awards

The Progressive Training Awards are the cornerstone of the Scout Programme. They provide activities that encourage the progressive development of individual Scouts based on their age group and personal development. It is structured so that Scouts can move at a pace that is suitable to their own developmental stage.

The Progressive Training Awards are the Moving on Award (Cub Scouts → Scouts), the Membership Badge, the Track & Trail Awards, the Course & Traverse Awards, the Chief Scout's Award and the Moving On Award (Scouts → Venture Scouts). Below are the requirements for each of the Progressive Training Awards.

  • Track & Trail Awards
  • Course & Traverse Awards
Scout Development Awards

The Developmental Awards provide the opportunity for Scouts to further develop their individual skills as they work on the Progressive Training Awards. They consist of a number of Challenges, the Patrol Activity Award, and the Leadership Award.

The Challenges complement the Progressive Awards. These have been developed to extend Scouts' skills and experience. The Challenges are optional but they will help to ensure that Scouts are completing a balanced Programme.

The Patrol Activity Award provides the opportunity for Scouts to develop their inter-personal skills. This is accomplished by them taking part in corporate activities with their fellow Patrol members.

The Leadership Award provides the opportunity for older Scouts (over 13 years) to further develop their leadership skills. It encourages them to take responsibility for the running and organising of activities, particularly Patrol activities.

Below are the requirements for each of the Development Awards.

Scout Proficiency Badges

Proficiency Badges are another way of recognising the achievements of Scouts who have learnt a new skill, or who have taken part in an activity for a certain period of time.

There are 74 Scout Proficiency Badges covering a wide variety of skills and activities. Below are the requirements for each of the badges.

 Staged Activity Badges 

The Staged Activity badges have been designed to provide a unified approach throughout the Sections. There are six activity badges staged across the Sections. This means that a boy can gain whichever badge is appropriate to the level they have reached. It is possible, for example, for a Beaver Scout who is an excellent swimmer to gain a higher level badge than a Scout who has just taken up the activity. A boy should always wear only the highest of each staged badge type that they have gained on the uniform.

Below are the requirements for each of the Staged Activity Badges.


  © Barbados Boy Scouts Association - Sept. 2016  -  About - Contact Us - Terms and Conditions  Creative Commons License